Good perspective.

The Princess Speaks

June 30/July 1: If you carry your childhood with you, you will never become older.-Abraham Sutzkever

I think I was older as a kid than I am now. I was a serious, quiet child, always concerned with doing the right thing. Actually, I bet many adults feel younger now than they did as children, because unlike their lot in childhood, the life they live now is completely their own. When people talk about wanting a do-over I never hear anyone say they wish they were 10 again; thirty maybe, but never under 10.

And there are some fairly good reasons why. Children have a lot of jobs, while adults generally have only two; breadwinning and tending the family. I can choose to learn something new now, but as a kid there are few choices. Every one of us had to learn to turnover, crawl, walk, talk, read, write, tell time…

View original post 368 more words

Leave a Reply

